

AGENDA PLACEMENT FORM (Submission Deadline – Monday, 5:00 PM before Regular Court Meetings)

Date:	Court Decision: This section to be completed by County Judge's Office
Meeting Date: 11/27/2023	COMMISSIONERS COURT
Submitted By: County Judge's Office	
Department:	NOV 2 7 2023
Signature of Elected Official/Department Head:	Approved
Description: <u>Consider Joining TEX-21 and Appointing</u>	County Judge and County Engineer as
Representative and Alternate Representative	e to the Board-County Judge's Office
(May attach additional	sheets if necessary)
(May attach additional	sheets if necessary)
Person to Present: Judge Boedeker	
(Presenter must be present for the item unl	ess the item is on the Consent Agenda)
Supporting Documentation: (check one)	PUBLIC CONFIDENTIAL
(PUBLIC documentation may be made available)	ilable to the public prior to the Meeting)
Estimated Length of Presentation: minu	tes
Session Requested: (check one)	
\blacksquare Action Item \square Consent \square Worksho	p Executive Other
Check All Departments That Have Been Notified	:
\Box County Attorney \Box IT	□ Purchasing □ Auditor
Personnel Public Wor	ks 🛛 Facilities Management
Other Department/Official (list)	
Please List All External Persons Who In Your Submi	

2023 VOTING MEMBERS:

ALLEN * KEN FUIK ARGYLE * Rick Bradford ARK-TEX COG * Chris Brown BELL COUNTY * David Blackburn BOWIE COUNTY * Tom Whitten CAPITAL METRO * DOttie Watkins CCRTA * Jorge Cruz-Aedo CHILDRESS COUNTY * Kim Jones COLLEGE STATION * John Nichols COLLEGY LLE * Richard Newton

COMANCHE * Mary Boyd

COMANCHE COUNTY * Stephanie Davis COPPELL * Wes Mays **CRESSON * Teena Conway CROCKETT EDC * James Gentry** DALLAS * Adam McGough DALLAS AREA RAPID TRANSIT * Nadine Lee DALLAS COLLEGE * Justin Lonon **DALLAS COUNTY * Theresa Daniel** DECATUR * Mike McQuiston FARMERSVILLE * Ben White GLEN ROSE * George Freas **GRANBURY * Jim Jarratt** GRANBURY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE* Brian Bondy GRAND PRAIRIE* WALTER SHUMAC HASLET * James Quin HOOD COUNTY * Ron Massingill

HOPKINS COUNTY * Robert Newsom HOUSTON METRO * Tom Lambert HUNTSVILLE * Andy Brauninger

JEFFERSON COUNTY * Jeff Branick KAUFMAN * Jeff Jordan LAMPASAS * FINLEY DEGRAFFENRIED LANCASTER * Opal Mauldin-Jones MANSFIELD * Michael Evans MCGREGOR * Kevin Evans

MESQUITE * DANIEL ALEMAN JR. MONT BELVIEU * Scott Swigert MOUNT PLEASANT * Ed Thatcher MOUNT VERNON * Teresia Wims ROCKWALL * Kevin Fowler ROCKWALL COUNTY * Frank New SEAGOVILLE * Patrick Stallings SHERMAN * RObby Hefton STEPHENVILLE * MARK MCCLINTON SULPHUR SPRINGS * Marc Maxwell SULPHUR SPRINGS HOPKINS COUNTY EDC

* Roger Feagley TARRANT COUNTY * Gary Fickes TEMPLE * Brynn Myers TEXARKANA * Bob Bruggeman TITUS COUNTY * Kent Cooper TRINITY METRO * Richard Andreski VIA METRO * Jeffrey Arndt WEATHERFORD * James Hotopp

WILMER * Jeff Steele WYLIE * Chris Holsted

2023 Associate Members:

AAA TEXAS * Anne O'Ryan DEC Engineering * Johan Petterson TEXAMERICAS CENTER * Scott Norton

2023 RESOURCE AGENCIES:

HOWARD PAYNE UNIVERSITY * Cory Hines SW ARKANSAS PLANNING & DEVELOP-MENT DISTRICT * Renee Dycus TARLETON STATE UNIVERSITY * James Hurley TEXAS SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY * Carroll Robinson TEXAS TRANSPORTATION INSTITUTE * Greg Winfree



Gary Fickes	Chris Brown	Theresa Daniel	Adam McGough	Tom Whitten
Chair	Vice Chair	Vice Chair	Vice Chair	Vice Chair
Tarrant County	Ark-Tex COG	Dallas County	City of Dallas	Bowie County
Jeff Branick	Chris Coffman	Tom Lambert	Jeffrey Arndt	Carol Strain-Burk
Vice Chair	Vice Chair	Vice Chair	Vice Chair	Treasurer
Jefferson County	City of Granbury	Houston METRO	VIA Metropolitan Transit	City of Lancaster

June 5, 2023

ATTN: The Honorable Christopher Boedeker Johnson County Judge 2 Main St Cleburne, TX 76033

RE: TEX-21 Membership

Dear Judge Boedeker,

We want to thank you for the interest you have shown in TEX-21, especially in regards to our TEX-21 US-287 Corridor Coalition and TEX-21 US-377 Corridor Coalition. David and his colleagues enjoyed their conversation with you today, and thank you for putting our <u>June 16th Statewide Zoom</u> meeting on your calendar!

I would like to formally invite Johnson County to join TEX-21 as a voting member. Being a member of this organization allows you to join colleagues from cities, counties and other entities throughout the state with the common goal of better multimodal transportation infrastructure across the state. Additionally, TEX-21 is an excellent opportunity for Johnson County to connect with key transportation players in Texas.

The type of collaborative effort that TEX-21 embodies allows everyone involved to benefit from major improvements in multimodal transportation throughout Texas. The conversion of US-287 into an Interstate Highway and improvements to US-377, being two of our major initiatives, will create enormous opportunities for Johnson County and the entire State. Interstate status for US-287, coupled with a strategic terminus near key Texas ports, ensures this highway will continue to grow as a vital freight and commerce corridor. Improvements to US-377 ensure this major trucking route is safe and efficient for commerce and travel as more people move to Texas. Furthermore, improvements to US-287 and US-377 impact not only the corners of Johnson County, but also the heart of Johnson County's industry, US-67, which connects to both of these major highways.

Since 1997, TEX-21 has had a consistent history of aiding local governments and businesses to work as one organization, dedicated to improving multi-modal transportation for the benefit of everyone.

We hope that Johnson County will strengthen our organization with its membership. To do so, the County will need to designate a representative to be listed on the letterhead, as well as 1-2 alternates (if desired). Additionally, membership would afford the opportunity to serve in on our statewide TEX-21 US-287 Corridor Coalition and TEX-21 US-377 Corridor Coalition. Based on Johnson County's population at the last decennial census, the annual dues for the county will be set at \$15,000. As David mentioned on the call, your first dues payment will be prorated to \$7,500, as we are half-way through FYE 2023, and can be paid in combination with the FYE 24 dues. If you have any questions, please contact David by cell at (214) 668-0123, or by email at Ddean@dean.net.

Sincerely,

Gary Fickes, TEX-21 Chair Tarrant County Commissioner

Attached: TEX-21 Info Packet

DEAN INTERNATIONAL, INC. PUBLIC POLICY CONSULTANTS 2208 ROUTH STREET • DALLAS, TEXAS 75201